Home > Sestina > The Truth About Her Whirlwind

The Truth About Her Whirlwind

I
Quiet weather before the huge tempest upon this earth.
All hopes that the new historical Hazel would take a westward cleave,
my peace, my peace replaced with vibrations as winds stalk.
Our boats and ships make turns to lands and sea by the bow.
Beaches, rivers and creeks waters will overflow their bank.
Blowing rain, blowing wind hours and hours soon to dessert.

II
Merchandising; preparing candle lights and my pie for dessert.
All the states of the original Republic enjoin in my part of earth.
Long lines at proprietors shorten; as well as rush on the Bank.
Winding speeds so slow and near the shore the storm does cleave.
Pool furniture and golf flags gone, branches, large pine trees bow.
Quickly and flashing more blowing winds bending bushes at the stalk.

III
An uninvited guest she remains dragging her feet and stalk!
Oh, my nerves this project with fret as I soothe myself with dessert!
Spiraling bands of her poison she delivers to and fro the palms fronds bow!
Her name is Irene she is huge; and her grandmother is Hazel she melted the earth!
Up to Long Bay and beyond she is now at sanction at ‘the inlets’ she will cleave
Turbulence and rain onto Winyah Bay blowing the seas up the bank.

IV
Tides flow will be devastating soon in darkness we ride Bald Head Isle flooded bank.
Up up the Atlantic she crawls her squalls vibrate as she continues her stalk.
Roaring and spewing, sand and water slapping the eaves she continues to cleave.
Without delay my mind is inert her size will not deteriorate like my waist from my dessert.
Irene bordering the Carolinas with the Gulf Stream as her guide devouring the Earth.
Vibrating bands and intermittent silence with water in tow, bow.

V
Oh my land, she’s here! She has three of us; covered under her branches bow!
You nasty old girl, you’re a costly date! Ten states you want to claim breaking the bank!
Your eye is here! The silence overwhelms, darkness prevails the near Earth.
Batteries and candles will work until you tire bothering us and cease to stalk.
Soon you will join your grandmother Hazel and melt into the earth your just dessert!
In partial darkness we sit, in peace as you follow destiny’s path to cleave!

VI
Leave us! Leave us! March out to sea, just flee! How long will you cleave?
Your eye is tired and your bands get thinner we think it is your turn to bow!
A tropical cyclone your eye will run out of tears for destruction just a dessert.
Kill Devil Hill, Dover, and Brentwood must you go and flood their bank?
You know you tire and we all desire that quest your on just balk the stalk.
Roofs and houses you have blown; roadways and paths covered with earth.

VII
Our trees cover the roadways and the boats now cleave to the bank.
The tall pine on the golf course its’ branches in a bow, with only half its’ stalk.
A slice of pie for dessert with all this darkness. Ah! The lights back to earth!

  1. August 27, 2011 at 2:41 pm

    I like this line: “Merchandising; preparing candle lights and my pie for desert.” … But I do have a question about the sestina. Can you use variations of the word like this (“dessert” instead of “desert”)? Can you use alternate spellings, or does the exact same word have to be repeated? For example, can you use the homophones “to,” “too,” “two”? Or do you have to pick one and stick with it? I know one person used “awake” as a variation of “wake.” So I’m just not completely sure about the rules.

    Like

    • August 27, 2011 at 4:57 pm

      Thank you for asking but, sorry to say you have brought a typo to my attention and I have fixed it! I thank you very much! When I researched I could not find any classic poetry where the Homophones were switched, but I am no expert. I did like some of the words I read and they fit my circumstances at the moment perfectly! If you could use them interchangeably it would make all patterns way easier. I am sure you could but then would it be a Sestina? Or have another name altogether. But these are not doctorate dissertations, just our pleasure.
      So I will enjoy the other person’s read even with homophones.

      Like

  2. August 27, 2011 at 4:45 pm

    So this is how it’s done. I am so glad I am no where near the hurricane. But you did a great job not letting me forget. Superb.

    http://henryclemmons.wordpress.com/2011/08/27/poets-reach/#comments

    Like

  3. August 27, 2011 at 5:41 pm

    Wow you kicked this out in jig time and so topical too! Beautiful language throughout and the layering and word play adds to the images you paint throughout the poem. I thought it was a really fine sestina that flows and winds throughout your lines. Really good summation too in your envoy.

    I think the second stanza’s lines endwords might be slightly out of order…might just be me; just getting the hang of this form too.

    Overall really well done. Thank you so much for linking! Gay

    Like

  4. August 27, 2011 at 7:05 pm

    Thanks for sharing your sestina with dVerse! Sometimes people bend the words a bit for a sestina, which is fine, but then others debate whether it’s a sestina. Do what your heart and a thorough reading of well known, good poets tells you to do.

    Like

  5. August 28, 2011 at 2:17 am

    Very topical and well written.

    Like

  6. August 28, 2011 at 2:39 pm

    ..a clever Sestina at its best.. this is one of my favorite, honestly… i find your words very allegorical and brave! and that Irene here is really intriguing.. your end-word choices are really fantastic and executed brilliantly enough.. my envoi’s a bit off of the required rule wherein it should contain all the six end-words together.. i’ve overlooked the article at dverse and only now when i came back to read the article again that i ever noticed that.. hehe.. am too carried away by the form for it’s my first ever encounter with it…and i had so much fun with it and now feeling proud for taking the risk of writing one! a fantastic experience! thanks for your appreciations at my attempt. Have a nice day!(:

    ~Kelvin

    Like

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Comments are appreciated.

