Home > a poetry > Love Go Back

Love Go Back

Go Back!
Could I please go back?

Inner light lifted
dearheart with a little d,
back to Shem Creek
tangerine puddles
abound, grasses glow
orange, yellow, purple
and green. Earth’s
work of Art. Sunsets
on all we know. The
door was open then.
His shell gone, love is
sown and grown.

Go Back!
Could I please go back?

Dearheart, dearheart
with a little d, he never
knew the duality of a
read. Of couse, he never
actually read my writes.
Too bad, his unbelief, he
is so special to
me and my secret
term of endearment for
him, a little d close to His.
Humble, I thought.
Or so it seemed.

Go Back!
Could I please go back?

White crown, bright eyes,
pale tones of wear. I love
the wit, dry humor
from across the water.
Some brain, but not
so much. He knows a
great wine or two, of
course I fixed that with
my sweet moscato.
Kind words with him
most times. Breathless daily
just to be near he is so dear.

Go Back!
Could I please go back?

Alas, the beauty we have
seen, the sunsets, billowing
storm clouds from upon high.
Snows, cold cottony piles,
Flatlands, ruined views of
windmills worse than any
billboard you could imagine.
Distaining the earth view as
far as the eyes could see!
Oh, what a horror, worse
Than any you could see!
Windmills, worse than strip mines!
Go Back!
Could I please go back?

The eagle has landed for
my close up photos.
Molting and ready for
this season of fish. His
other large friend with
the largest wings
hiding his banded black
mask like Zorro so prey
would mistake him or her
for the eagle who only
eats fish here. A sneaky
friend indeed!

Go Back!
Could I please go back?

Birds with golden wings,
glistening light bounces
off the lake. Painting the
gray house, painting the
mountains, abstract
angel wings, herons in
the winter grasses in
“The Lowcountry.”
At cooking we have
talent as many older
folks do. Very, very
creative, colorful hosts.

  1. June 15, 2013 at 10:15 pm

    Wonderful work. What I love the most is how you’ve woven in so many colors…a true word-artist’s palette.

    Like

  2. June 15, 2013 at 11:26 pm

    nice…epic poem…and your refrain ties it together really well…love the imagery up front and the wonders of nature…the variety…and it comes in people as well..dearheart with a little d…smiles….love the description of them…and dry humor & wit def has its place…the destruction of that nature as well…the billboards & reaping…its sad….

    Like

  3. June 15, 2013 at 11:36 pm

    I like the refrain: Go Back!
    Could I please go back?

    My favorite parts are the beauty of the sunset and eagle ~

    Like

  4. June 16, 2013 at 7:22 am

    really love this piece. The beauty is easily seen, love the imagery, the repetition reinforces so many things, quite gorgeously composed. thanks

    Like

  5. June 16, 2013 at 7:33 am

    i read it twice and dunno but the can i please go back has something so haunting..probably it’s just me and touching a string..ha…have to ponder this a bit..smiles

    Like

  6. June 16, 2013 at 8:03 am

    These types of friendships can mean so much through their animal simplicity. I really enjoyed this.

    Like

  7. June 16, 2013 at 11:13 am

    beautiful imagery here… thank you for taking me on a wonderful journey…

    Like

  8. June 16, 2013 at 2:06 pm

    Go back.. what a powerful expression.. don’t we all have that place were we long to be..? a sweet piece of nostalgia .. and those eagle pictures you paint— ❤ wonderful

    Like

  9. June 24, 2013 at 4:57 pm

    This is truly beautiful. It is filled with longing, sadness, gentleness and beauty – all from the heart. I appreciate that a lot.

    Like

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Comments are appreciated.

